food + shelter

Today was so beautiful!  My mom and I decided to pop on down to Old Town Alexandria for a ‘food + shelter’ trip.  The shelter leg of the journey started at Random Harvest.  I have been day-dreaming about that store as I tweak and re-arrange my living room.  It embodies just about everything I want to express in my interior design.  Currently I have my eye on a console table for my entry.  And let’s keep in mind, I live in a cottage so every thing I put in my little house must be appropriate, multi-functional and oh yeah, not so big.  So this console has a polished travertine top and a gilded gold base, with a very slim profile and narrow legs.  I am dreaming of it either as my entry table, with a gold Chippendale-esque mirror above.  OR, as miniature server, next to my dining room table, with a mirror above, a small mirror and maybe a mini-bar set-up on top.  Problem is, it’s not incredibly multi-functional.  Just to-die-for beautiful.

Oh well, we need other utilitarian pieces first; ie: media console, glass waterfall coffee table and fixing my round hand-carved dining room table in storage.

Next up: food.  We strolled in to a little bakery on King St. that is quickly becoming a familiar stopping point for us – Le Pain Quotidien.

The Bakery

mom enjoying her meringue

[Mom, in yellow, enjoying her meringue]

I quickly inhaled a chocolate croissant and we each picked out an enormous meringue.

meringue

The first time we stopped in here, a few months ago, we were totally amazed at the sheer size of the meringues there.  We split one, thinking it would be more than enough, but turns out we each needed our own.  The inside is incredibly gooey (you wouldn’t think when you imagine the crunchy fluff of a meringue) and totally addictive.  Just as we were checking out, I noticed that they have baguette sandwiches to-go, and I ordered up a chicken, arugula and egg baguette with herb dressing.

baguette

Not too shabby for a 60 degree day at the end of February 🙂

Leave a Reply

