Charlottesville rocks

We had to go down to Charlottesville today to handle some serious business and afterwards we took in some historic scenery and a good meal in downtown C’ville as a reward.  We landed at Orzo for some light Greek fare and while we were not overwhelmed by any stretch of the imagination (I had a pretty bland roasted red pepper and tomato salad with a balsamic reduction) it was fresh food made from quality local ingredients. And for that, we can’t be mad at them.

The art on the walls, however, was a different story altogether. We had to pick our jaws up off the floor in amazement.  JB and I were imagining one of the supersized Greek landscapes over our dinner table on an embarrassingly empty wall with a lot of height that’s begging for some ‘character’.

Inspired by our fresh (but flavorless) lunch, I whipped up some pesto for our dinner.  Here’s a good recipe as a reference, but I cut the olive oil and pine nuts in half and nixed the salt to keep it light.  I cleaned up some chicken breasts and massaged some lemon zest and my new olive oil (from Feast) into them and baked them at 375 degrees for 25 minutes.  After I pulled the chicken from the oven, I spread a small amount of pesto over top.

I also made some dressing with greek yogurt, lemon juice, minced shallots and pepper and whisked it together.  I poured it on top of a fresh arugula salad with grape tomatoes and walnuts.

Another dinner under 500 calories!  I am trying to cut the sodium so I did not use any salt; but JB had to add some to his meal for a bit of extra punch.  Now I’m off to brush my teeth from my sweet garlic breath.

Leave a Reply

