dinner is served

I have been slacking on the cooking front!  With Zumba three nights a week, I can barely get anything on the table and the hubs is left to fend for himself.  Tonight, I had a rare night off from horses and Zumba and took to the fridge to figure out dinner only to find we have the bare essentials.

I found a piece of silver salmon (Coho) in the freezer and quickly thawed in some water.  After debating whether to poach it in some soy sauce (nope, too salty for my low sodium diet) I settled on a mint-mustard sauce.  Quick aside, one of my three favorite horsey movies is “Something to Talk About” and after finding out her husband was cheating on her, she took the advice of her crazy aunt and made him salmon with mint-mustard sauce while they talked things out.  A trip to the hospital later outted her intentions to poison him via the dish.  No such intentions here, but have always wanted to make salmon with a mint-mustard sauce.

Since onions sautéed with roasted red pepper sauce is not JB’s idea of a side dish (but that is what I was decidedly having), I quickly boiled some water and added a quarter pound of gemelli I had left over from a previous pesto pasta dish.   In a pan, I made a roux and added some half-and-half and gorgonzola to make a light cream sauce for the squiggly pasta.  I threw in the remainder of some romano I had put the sauce on low until I could cook the fish.

I seared the salmon filets for about 2.5 minutes on each side and finished them with a sauce made of stone ground mustard, Dijon mustard, honey, horseradish and finely chopped fresh mint.

I always make the pasta first, in anticipation of the water taking forever to boil, but I always wish I had done it last.  By the time I plated the fish and red pepper/onion mix, the pasta was a bit cold and the gorgonzola cream sauce had started to settle.  I quickly combined both in a last-ditch effort to reheat.  Success.

Not a bad dish for an impromptu dinner at home.  Can’t wait to get to TJ’s for a grocery run ASAP.  In the meantime, I’m off to get the bulldog a refill of treats and pill-pockets at PetSmart.

Leave a Reply

